Northwest Wyoming Film Series

DATE: Sept. 16, 2016
WHAT: Fall Film Series begins
FOR RELEASE: immediately
CONTACT: Peter Hassrick, or 578-4017
The Northwest Wyoming Film Series, a community effort to bring exceptional movies to the Big Horn Basin, will resume this fall in a split season.

The series will begin on Tuesday, Sept. 27, and continue on Tuesdays, Oct. 4 and 11. After a two-week break in late October, it will resume on Nov. 1, 8 and 15. The movies will be shown twice, at 4:30 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. at Big Horn Cinemas.

The six movies will be a mix of foreign films, documentaries and selections that would otherwise not appear on the big screen.

“This series offers an opportunity for the public to share the experience of watching movies that challenge and inspire, educate or simply entertain,” NWFS President Peter Hassrick said. “The six films that will be shown this fall were selected by the board members from 18 movies that they reviewed and discussed, sometimes during lively exchanges.

“We’re looking forward to our upcoming season, with warm appreciation for our members’ support and the welcome cooperation of Tony Beaverson of Big Horn Cinemas.”

Annual memberships, which include the 2016 fall series of six films and a subsequent 2017 winter/spring series of eight films, are available for $20 per person. Checks should be made out to NWFS and mailed to P.O. Box 1004, Cody, WY 82414. Membership cards will be either mailed or available in the theater lobby.

The ticket price at the door for each feature will be $6.00 for NWFS members and $10.00 for non-members. Memberships will also be sold in the lobby preceding the films.

Members will receive weekly emails about the upcoming films. Information about the series will also be available at Those on Facebook can “like” the NWFS page for more information.

NWFS formed in January 2012, organized its first season that winter/spring in collaboration with Tony Beaverson of Big Horn Cinemas and last year became an affiliate of the Park County Arts Council. The NWFS board members are Richard Wilson and Harriet Bloom-Wilson, Jan and Lee Hermann, Anne Young and Jim Nielson, and Peter and Buzzy Hassrick.